Philippe Verdelot: Madrigals for a Tudor King

CD Verdelot
Jan 2007
69 minutes
Obsidian Records

Philippe Verdelot was the most important composer of Italian madrigals in the early 16th century and recognized as the greatest innovator of the genre. A Frenchman, he occupied several important musical posts in Italy, including the Florentine posts of maestro di cappella at the Baptistry of S. Maria del Fiore and the great Duomo itself. In the mid 1520s, during his time in Florence, a set of part-books were assembled, probably under Verdelot's supervision, for the court of Henry VIII. Most, if not all, of the works were composed by Verdelot. This is the first recording of the complete madrigals in the collection, which stands not only as the most exceptional of diplomatic musical gifts but is also an important source for the history of the early madrigal.

Track Listing: 
  1. Italia mia bench’ el parlar’
  2. Con l’angelico riso
  3. Quanto sia lieto il giorno
  4. Lasso, che se creduto
  5. O dolce nocte
  6. Madonna qual certeça
  7. Afflicti spirti mei
  8. Dentr’ al mio cor’
  9. Quando nascesti, Amore?
  10. Piove da li occhi
  11. Pur troppo, donna
  12. I vostri acuti dardi
  13. Chi non fa prove, amore
  14. Liet’ è madonna et io pur
  15. Con lacrim’ et sospir’ negando porge
  16. Donna, se fera stella
  17. Ognun si duol’ d’amore
  18. Altro non è el mio amor’
  19. Madonna io v’ amo e taccio
  20. Sì suave è l’inghanno
  21. Se ben’ li occhi
  22. Cortese alma gentile
  23. Quanta dolceça amore
  24. Donna che sete fra le donne belle
  25. La bella donna
  26. Deh, quant’ è dolc’ amor
  27. Donna leggiadr’ et bella
  28. Madonna, per voi ardo
  29. Amor, io sento l’alma
  30. Ultimi mei sospiri

Alamire records exclusively for Obsidian Records , a subsidiary of Classical Communication Ltd. The following sound files are low-resolution MP3s. For the full sound experience, please visit your local record shop, or download any of our titles from iTunes.