Thomas Tomkins: These Distracted Times

CD Tomkins
Dec 2007
66 minutes
Obsidian Records

The political intrigue of the early 17th century culminated with the execution of Charles I in 1649 and the beginning of the Commonwealth led by the Lord Protector Oliver Cromwell. Thomas Tomkins, the greatest composer of that age, wrote a pavan for ‘these distracted times’ shortly after the King’s execution. This CD provides a mixture of Tomkin’s church and chamber music that soothed troubled souls during these turbulent years. The recording was made in the chapel of Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge, where Cromwell was a student and where his severed head remains.

Track Listing: 
  1. Pavan I
  2. Almighty God, the fountain of all wisdom
  3. Hear my prayer, O Lord
  4. The heavens declare
  5. Te Deum (The Fifth Service)
  6. A Fancy
  7. Jubilate (The Fifth Service)
  8. O Lord, how manifold
  9. Pavan VII
  10. I heard a voice from heaven
  11. Magnificat (The Fifth Service)
  12. Pavan ‘for these distracted times’
  13. Nunc dimittis (The Fifth Service)
  14. Pavan VIII
  15. Remember me, O Lord
  16. When David heard
  17. My help cometh from the Lord

Alamire records exclusively for Obsidian Records , a subsidiary of Classical Communication Ltd. The following sound files are low-resolution MP3s. For the full sound experience, please visit your local record shop, or download any of our titles from iTunes.